Virginia Reckless Driving Ticket | Defense Lawyer

Have you been issued a traffic ticket for Virginia reckless driving? With the threat of jail time and license suspension, there is the potential for serious consequences even for first-time offenders. Virginia reckless driving is a class 1 misdemeanor. That’s a criminal offense, and it carries six DMV points, a potential fine of $2,500, and a potential jail sentence of 12 months. Experience Matters. The Law Office of Mark A. Murphy welcomes the opportunity to evaluate case before your court date.

Mr. Murphy typically practices in the counties of Stafford, Spotsylvania, King George, Caroline and Westmoreland, as well as the City of Fredericksburg. He also travels to other jurisdictions on a case by case basis.

Virginia reckless driving speeding

Virginia Code 46.2-862:

A person shall be guilty of reckless driving who drives a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth (i) at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit or (ii) in excess of eighty miles per hour regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit.

 

Catch-all reckless driving

Virginia Code 46.2-852:

Irrespective of the maximum speeds permitted by law, any person who drives a vehicle on any highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person shall be guilty of reckless driving.

 

You want a reckless driving defense attorney that will fight to protect you and your rights. For immediate assistance, please contact our office by phone at 540.372.3700.